Membership
TASIN

Sign up today!

TUMSS

WELCOME TO TUMSS!

It's a new year! Which means brand new opportunities, a new committee and a whole bunch of new events brought to you by TUMSS! Make sure you watch this space throughout the year for the latest details on the best academic & social events!

Follow us

Follow our Facebook page for more events & opportunities throughout the year!

What is TUMSS?

The Tasmanian University Medical Students' Society (TUMSS) has been representing medical students at the University of Tasmania for over 45 years.

TUMSS is a student run organisation which aims to improve & support the academic & social wellbeing of all medical students across Tasmania. With more than 500 members each year, the society serves to provide the best possible academic and social opportunities for all students.

TUMSS is an affiliated society of the Tasmania University Union (TUU) and has close ties with the Australian Medical Students' Association (AMSA), Australian Medical Association (AMA) of Tasmania, and the UTAS School of Medicine.

TUMSS aims to:

  • Represent medical students on UTAS committees, providing a student voice on issues of current relevance, therefore allowing students direct input into their medical school & curriculum.
  • Liaise with relevant student & professional bodies, including the School of Medicine, AMSA, and the AMA.
  • Encourage members to consider their wellbeing, both physical and mental, and the wellbeing of their colleagues.
  • Provide members with access to support services, including student mentors.
  • Organise social & sporting events for members.
  • Provide career information to members on the various medical specialties and vocational training opportunities.
  • Promote interaction between medical students in different year groups, on different campuses and from different backgrounds.
  • Showcase sponsors' products & services to members.

2018 Committee

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

President Eli Cropp president@tumss.org.au
Vice President (Academic) Colin Pettman vpacademic@tumss.org.au
Vice President (Social) Brittany Kay and Ollie Markey vpsocial@tumss.org.au
Honorary Secretary Tom Webster secretary@tumss.org.au
Treasurer Khezia Chalwe treasurer@tumss.org.au
AMSA Representative Liam Virtue amsa@tumss.org.au

 

GENERAL COMMITTEE

Sponsorship Officer Charlotte Bannink sponsorship@tumss.org.au
Student Welfare Officer Sunwoo Kim welfare@tumss.org.au
Publications Officer Cameron Marshall publications@tumss.org.au
Graduation Committee Chair Heather Price and Fini Cusack graduation@tumss.org.au
IT Officer Ashleigh Barker and Harvin Hans it@tumss.org.au
Sports Officer Sarah Grace sports@tumss.org.au
International Student Officer Brendan Tan international@tumss.org.au
Philanthropy Officer Allanah Greer philanthropy@tumss.org.au
TASIN Chair Saranya Costa tasin@tumss.org.au
TSPS Chair Arad Khodarahmi and Michael Armarego pathology@tumss.org.au
Junior AMSA Representative Erik Lui junioramsa@tumss.org.au
AMSA Advocacy Team Representative Ynez Howlett-Jansen ynez.howlettjansen@amsa.org.au

 

YEAR REPRESENTATIVES

1st Year Academic  Max Green
1st Year Social  Thomas Young
2nd Year Academic  Damaris de Kock
2nd Year Social  Jeffrey Xie
3rd Year Academic  Bella Murray
3rd Year Social  Sarah Crawford and Pep Salmon
4th Year HCS  -
4th Year LCS Academic  Tori Murton and Georgia Roberts
4th Year LCS Social  Jett Karolewski
4th Year RCS  Khezia Chalwe
4th Year RCS  Alex Johnson
5th Year HCS Academic  Kristof Wing
5th Year HCS Social  Fini Cusack and Grace McGuinness
5th Year LCS Academic  Annabelle Rival
5th Year LCS Social  Nico Reeves
5th Year RCS  Samaa Daim
5th Year RCS  Kavita Dilip