Membership

Join Today!

TASIN

Sign up today!

TUMSS

WELCOME TO TUMSS!

It's a new year! Which means brand new opportunities, a new committee and a whole bunch of new events brought to you by TUMSS! Make sure you watch this space throughout the year for the latest details on the best academic & social events!

Follow us

Follow our Facebook page for more events & opportunities throughout the year!

What is TUMSS?

The Tasmanian University Medical Students' Society (TUMSS) has been representing medical students at the University of Tasmania for over 45 years.

TUMSS is a student run organisation which aims to improve & support the academic & social wellbeing of all medical students across Tasmania. With more than 500 members each year, the society serves to provide the best possible academic and social opportunities for all students.

TUMSS is an affiliated society of the Tasmania University Union (TUU) and has close ties with the Australian Medical Students' Association (AMSA), Australian Medical Association (AMA) of Tasmania, and the UTAS School of Medicine.

TUMSS aims to:

  • Represent medical students on UTAS committees, providing a student voice on issues of current relevance, therefore allowing students direct input into their medical school & curriculum.
  • Liaise with relevant student & professional bodies, including the School of Medicine, AMSA, and the AMA.
  • Encourage members to consider their wellbeing, both physical and mental, and the wellbeing of their colleagues.
  • Provide members with access to support services, including student mentors.
  • Organise social & sporting events for members.
  • Provide career information to members on the various medical specialties and vocational training opportunities.
  • Promote interaction between medical students in different year groups, on different campuses and from different backgrounds.
  • Showcase sponsors' products & services to members.

2017 Committee

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

President Mrunmayee Bhalerao president@tumss.org.au
Vice President (Academic) Cameron Marshall vpacademic@tumss.org.au
Vice President (Social) Ella Orlowski and Eli Cropp vpsocial@tumss.org.au
Honorary Secretary Emily Mackrill secretary@tumss.org.au
Treasurer Nicholas Moutsatsos treasurer@tumss.org.au
AMSA Representative Phillip Rothschild amsa@tumss.org.au

 

GENERAL COMMITTEE

Sponsorship & Partnership Officer Christine Yang sponsorship@tumss.org.au
Student Welfare Officer Natasha Abeysekera welfare@tumss.org.au
Publications Officer Gabrielle Brailsford publications@tumss.org.au
Graduation Committee Chair Ash Sudhakaran and Emily Doole graduation@tumss.org.au
IT Officer Michael Assenheimer it@tumss.org.au
Sports Officer Henry West sports@tumss.org.au
International Students’ Officer Dexter Gan Qi Xuan international@tumss.org.au
Philanthropy Officer Annabelle Rival philanthropy@tumss.org.au
TASIN Chair Luke Yang tasin@tumss.org.au
TSPS Chair Brian Tan pathology@tumss.org.au
Junior AMSA Representative Beth Grimmer junioramsa@tumss.org.au

 

YEAR REPRESENTATIVES

1st Year Academic  Jesse Harris jesseh2@utas.edu.au
1st Year Social Ollie Markey omarkey@utas.edu.au
2nd Year Academic Kris Nand kanand@utas.edu.au
2nd Year Social Liam Virtue lkvirtue@utas.edu.au
3rd Year Academic Natina Monteleone natinam0@utas.edu.au
3rd Year Academic Nishee Nattraj nnattraj@utas.edu.au
3rd Year Social Emma Shoemaker emmas21@utas.edu.au
3rd Year Social Carena Lai: celai@utas.edu.au
4th Year HCS Kristof Wing kristof.wing@utas.edu.au
4th Year LCS Amy Richardson amyleer@utas.edu.au
4th Year LCS Nico Reeve njreeve@utas.edu.au
4th Year RCS Sam Edmunds swe@utas.edu.au
4th Year RCS Kavita Dilip kldilip@utas.edu.au
5th Year HCS Anees Enayati aenayati@utas.edu.au
5th Year LCS Jac O’Rourke jacyntao@utas.edu.au
5th Year RCS Sam Hamilton samjohnh@utas.edu.au
5th Year RCS Sam Rose srose3@utas.edu.au